Winning team rides the back of Dennis O’Connor to victory

The final R.J. Schreck Scholarship golf tournament of 2020 was held on November 4 at Riverfront Golf Club in Suffolk. While usually the first tournament of the year, COVID pushed the Tidewater area tournament from April to November. The beautiful blue skies and 70-degree temperature provided a glorious day for golf. With very little wind, nearly 20 teams vied for first place on a “Chamber of Commerce” type of day. When all was said and done, three teams tied for a 59 on the par 72 course. The Team of ringers: Virginia Paving’s David Horton, Branscome Paving’s David Branscome, Jr., and Astec’s Richard Schreck and Jeff Baugh took the first place prize by shooting a 29 on the back nine. In second place was James River Petroleum’s Peyton Bowman, Madison Pollard, Pat Brown, and Adam New. In addition to the top two teams, Ricky Meads won the longest drive & putting contests! Sandy Winslow won the closest to the pin.

Second Place Team

Following the lead from the NOVA Region golf tournament, an auction was held to play six holes with Dennis O’Connor of Virginia Paving. Dennis will be retiring at the end of 2020, and it was fitting to honor him for his four decades of service to the Asphalt Industry. Three teams—Virginia Paving (Norfolk), Virginia Paving (Chantilly), and Asphalt Emulsions Industries paid a combined $4,500 to play with Dennis. Not only did the three teams get extra shots per hole, but they took advantage of Dennis’ tee shots from the closer tees. It is important to note that Dennis was a big contributor to the winning Team. While refusing to take any of the credit, everyone knew Dennis was the vital link in their score of 59. Most importantly, the funds from the auction were donated to the 2021 scholarship fund.

The tournament organizing team would like to thank all of those who played and sponsored. Because of you, we raised $25,000 for the 2021 scholarships. Combined with the other golf tournaments and other donations, VAA expects to award more than $60,000 in scholarships in 2021.