2019 R J Schreck scholarship recipients selected

In 2014, Virginia Asphalt Association established a scholarship program for dependents of VAA member companies. The scholarship provides an opportunity for VAA to give back to students pursuing degrees and furthering their education. Thanks to our donors, to date, we have been able to award over $140,000.00 in scholarships. The Program is managed under the auspices of the NAPA Research and Education Foundation (NAPAREF) Scholarship Program, a 501(c) 3 organization. All Richard J. Schreck Scholarship Tournament proceeds will be used to support the Richard J Schreck/NAPAREF Scholarship.

The VAA Scholarship committee is happy to announce the following winners of the 2019 RJ Schreck Scholarship award:

Laura Clark: Sponsored by Virginia Asphalt Association, attending Virginia Commonwealth University

Taylor Cooper: Sponsored by Colony Construction, Inc., Undecided

Mackenzie Flannigan: Sponsored by Branscome Inc., attending Clemson University

McKenna Grantier: Sponsored by James River Equipment, attending College of William and Mary

Charles Hampton: Sponsored by W-L Construction & Paving, Inc., attending Virginia Tech

Taylor Holt: Sponsored by Colony Construction, Inc., attending Virginia Tech

Alexander Ismael: Sponsored by Luck Stone Corporation, attending Virginia Tech

Kendra Cuno Lavilla: Sponsored by Branscome Inc., attending Thomas Nelson Community College

Lauren Powers: Sponsored by Virginia Paving Company, attending East Carolina University

Julia Rocca: Sponsored by Rish Equipment Company, attending Virginia Tech

Clair Shorb: Sponsored by Superior Paving Corporation, attending York College of Pennsylvania

Thank you to all applicants and sponsoring companies who participated in this year’s application process. We received over 20 applications for 11 scholarships.

Any applicants who applied but were not selected are encouraged to apply again next year!